2/3 

English: done

German: done

The only subject left is history and I have still 6 days until it. I am ONE of the people who write during the longest time. 

The suggestions in German were excellent. The first one was about the poem “Notturno” written by Max Herrmann-Neiße in 1914. Task 1 was to interpret it. The second one was to compare it to the poem “Erwartung” by Joseph von Eichendorff, published 1826? (I am not sure anymore) and to relate it to the historical background. Discussing if lyric is a suitable medium to express human feelings. 

Suggestion B’s first task was to Reader the excerpt of Max Frisch’s novel Stiller and to point out what his situation is. Second, one had to compare the expectations on him to the one on Johanna from  “Die Heilige Jungfrau von Orleans” and how they deal with it. Third, one should compare the relationship of Goethes’s Gretchen and Faust to the quote by Max Frisch  

“Auch sind wir die Verfasser der anderen; wir sind auf eine heimliche und unentrinnbare Weise verantwortlich für das Gesicht, das sie uns zeigen, verantwortlich nicht für ihre Anlage, aber für die Ausschöpfung dieser Anlage.” – Erstes Tagebuch

It means something like we are the authors of other people, too. We are responsible for them in a inescapable way and responsible for the side of them they show us. Not responsible for their aptitude but what they make of it.

Suggestion C was an excerpt of “Die Blechtrommel” by  Task 1) was to summarize it and outline the stylistic and narrative perspective. 2) was to compare the view of the main character and the circumstances of his birth to Grenouille from “The Perfume” by Patrick Süskind. Last, one had to argue why the quote (I do not remember how it goes exactly) that Kafka is afraid of the world because he is not very experienced and that this is a spiral that never stops fits to Kafka’s protagonist K from “The process”.
Of course I picked A without further thinking but for a short time I thought about picking B. I wanted a comparison of poems. But I think I screwed it up. I was not sure what the last stanza of “Notturno” means so after I realised it was written in 1914 I thought that – perhaps – it deals with World War I, too. So I compare the last one to the brutality of War and that it sound more coherent I added this aspect to the analysis of the other stanzas. It seemed so logical because expressionistic poems are often ambiguous. I could have googled if it is right what I wrote but I am afraid that it is wrong so I do not. I am so glad, that I did not have to write maths yesterday😆

Leave a Reply

